Skip to content
November 19, 2014 / briannasw

dying my own hair

I have heard a lot of people say that it’s difficult to dye your own hair at home, so I decided to make a little tutorial of what I do for mine.

Step 1

Brush through hair and keep the part in normal place

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Step 2

Put conditioner around hairline (this helps prevent getting the color on your skin)

Once the dye is ready I start to put it down my part and rub it down against the scalp.

Then I dye all around my hair line, around my ears, and underneath as well.

Then I make zig-zags starting next to my natural part and make sure my scalp is covered.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Step 3

Take small pieces of your hair and cover with color. This is the longest step to make sure you get all the strands.

I try to place the pieces on top of my head as I go through, so it keeps the wet pieces together.

After I’ve covered all my hair, I massage the color on my scalp and gather the hair together in a bun.

If I have any dye left I squeeze the rest of it in the bun to make sure the ends are covered really well.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Don’t forget to clean off your skin afterwards from any dye you may have accidentally got on your face or neck. I pretty much do this every time haha, so don’t worry if you do. It will come off! These steps have always worked for me to get all over color, so I hope it helps :)

Leave me some love... xoxo

